Greeting From Northampton, England

bach_king

Mar 10, 2018
Northampton , England
Hello Everybody

My name is David King and I live in Northampton, England which is about 65 miles north of London in what we call the Rose of the Shires (Northamptonshire)

I am a retired Management Consultant and I have been a lifelong music lover and audio enthusiast. This month I celebrate 50 years since I assembled my first system. It was very basic and consisted of the ubiquitous Garrard SP 25 Mk 2, a Tripletone 15wpc valve amplifier, and a pair of home made Rex Baldock designed Paraline horn loudspeakers which my Dad helped me to build in his garage. The standard version of these speakers used a single cone Elac 8 inch driver. I suped mine up by using an Eagle twin cone 8 inch long throw driver with a wizzer cone in the centre.

Since then there have been many iterations of my system.Nowadays I am very fortunate to have a dedicated music room which is 23ft x 20 ft x 10ft - 4500 cubic feet of heaven.

The present system consists of the following

SME Model 20/3A record deck with Denon DL-S1 moving coil cartridge and Furutech AG12 tonearm cable
Quad Platinum DMP Media Player
Music First Audio Classic 632 MM Phono Preamp with Trichord ‘Never Connected’ power supply
Music First Audio Classic V2 Step up Transformer
Music First Audio Baby Reference V2 Passive Preamp
Music First Audio Senlac SLE MOSFET Power Amplifiers
Howes Accoustics Quad II Valve Power Amplifiers
Tannoy Prestige Canterbury Gold Reference Loudspeakers
The stands are HI FI Racks Podium Reference

The system had a dedicated ring man in power supply. All sockets are Furutech switchless units. There are no mains power blocks. All powered units connect directly to the mains supply. The mains cables are all Nimrod HP Mk 2 power cords and all interconnects are VdH D102 III and are a mix of balanced and singled ended