Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 74

Thread: one dedicated line or two?

  1. #11
    I have mono blocks,and can work with 2 lines only.
    one of them for the amps .
    what is the minimum thickness of the wires from the breaker box?
    btw,230V here.

  2. #12
    Addicted to Best! RogerD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    BiggestLittleCity
    Posts
    3,078
    Quote Originally Posted by john333 View Post
    I have mono blocks,and can work with 2 lines only.
    one of them for the amps .
    what is the minimum thickness of the wires from the breaker box?
    btw,230V here.
    Ok so you will have 2 duplexes or 4 outlets. plug each mono block into a opposing duplex and use the remaining 2 outlets for your preamp and a multiple power strip or conditioner. Use Romex 10 for your wire.
    Speakers: ParAcas Satellites ParAcas Dual 16 subwoofer Velodyne FSR18 Fulton Little Maestros Mission speakers
    Electronics: Agtron Platinum Mono Blocks Accuphase C200 preamp Accuphase P300 amplifer Parasound amplifier ParAcas Sierra electronic crossover
    Digital: Monarchy NM24 DAC Sony DVD Transport
    Tuner: McIntosh MR78
    Cables: NBS Statement,Pro,Master Cables, Nirvana Digital SPDIF Cable
    Turntable: Linn LP12 Technics 1200
    RTR: Ampex 350,351,440BC,MR70
    Studer C37 60hz,Crown 2-844,824

  3. #13
    Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    901
    Quote Originally Posted by john333 View Post
    I have mono blocks,and can work with 2 lines only.
    one of them for the amps .
    what is the minimum thickness of the wires from the breaker box?
    btw,230V here.
    What country?
    What size breaker in the box?

    With twice the voltage, you only use half the current, so the wires (cores) are smaller.

    Don't think minimum diameter, think one size larger than recommended.
    Kevin

  4. #14
    Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    901
    In a typical 120V hi-fi system, I would go with one 20 Amp circuit. Using one size larger cable from the main breaker box to the wall outlets.
    In a large system, I would run a feeder from the main breaker box to a small breaker box near the equipment, then as many 20A circuits as needed.

    If a star ground system, uses more Safety Ground wire than the Hot or Neutral, then you did it wrong.
    Kevin

  5. #15
    Member Sponsor [VIP/Donor] GaryProtein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,533
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post
    In a typical 120V hi-fi system, I would go with one 20 Amp circuit. Using one size larger cable from the main breaker box to the wall outlets.
    In a large system, I would run a feeder from the main breaker box to a small breaker box near the equipment, then as many 20A circuits as needed.

    If a star ground system, uses more Safety Ground wire than the Hot or Neutral, then you did it wrong.



    Could you explain that.
    Listening Room: McIntosh C46, MCD500, MR78, MPI4, MC602 (2), Accuphase DG58, Pass Labs XVR1 (three-way), tri-amplified Infinity IRS Series V, TailTwister T2X rotator, AtlasSound FMA Rack, dedicated electrical sub-panel, boarded up fireplace, NO TV!

    Living Room: McIntosh C28, MC2300, MEN220, Revox B226, Tascam CD355, Thorens TD125 MKII w/vacuum platter, Rabco SL-8E, Grace F9-Ruby, McIntosh ML-2C (2) & ML-1C (4) stacked, MQ-107, SAE 2800, Nakamichi Dragon, Tandberg 64X, JL Audio f113 (2)

  6. #16
    Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    901
    In any AC power system the Hot, Neutral and Safety Ground should follow the same path all in close proximity to each other.
    In any hi-fi system, it is good to minimize the lengths of AC power runs from component to component.

    So you run the circuit to a junction box in a central location (relative to the hi-fi components). Then you split the H, N & SG to the outlet boxes. That junction box is the star point. You can also have sub stars.

    It's the shorter length of the SG from component to component that's most important. Only one SG per circuit back to the main (or sub) breaker panel.
    Kevin

  7. #17
    I like to use a separate dedicated line for all the digital gear.Also another line for the TT and phono pre.The third line is for the mono amps.
    There is no hum or noise doing it this way in my system.
    I use ancient Acoustat servo amps and there is no tube noise .
    30 amp line for the amps, 2 X 20 amp for the rest.
    #10 Romex.
    When I listen to digital I go thru a separate pre (passive) to the power amps.
    Analog is a separate phono pre( Steelhead) to the power amps.
    I like to keep the digital away from the analog.
    The digital gear is even on a separate rack.

  8. #18
    I bought a Torus balanced RM 20, and did the necessary electrical breaker stuff- double 20 amp-10 gauge romex.
    I plugged everything into it,even the digital.So I'm down to one dedicated line instead of three.
    This I felt was just as good as running the three lines.If it would have been a step backwards in sound I wouldn't have done this.
    So the Torus was doing a good job.
    But I didn't know how good things could get until I ran a dedicated Ground back to my water pipe from the massive ground post on the Torus.( I used all three wires from my unused 10 amp former dedicated line that was disconnected from the panel.
    All the stuff I've read about Entreq like products and elaborate dedicated grounding schemes now makes sense to me.
    The Torus has really woken up my system since I ran a dedicated ground from it.
    I hear more inner detail, more full bodied sound which I've read comes from less background noise or haze .
    One dedicated line and a dedicated ground using the balanced Torus" in my system" outperforms the multiple dedicated lines without dedicated grounds I had been using.

  9. #19
    Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    901
    The Safety Ground/Protective Earth wire should run in very close proximity to the Hot & Neutral wires back to the main breaker box. (panel board)
    If connecting it to a water pipe changes something, than have a good electrician look for problems (maybe a lost Neutral connection).
    Kevin

  10. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post
    The Safety Ground/Protective Earth wire should run in very close proximity to the Hot & Neutral wires back to the main breaker box. (panel board)
    If connecting it to a water pipe changes something, than have a good electrician look for problems (maybe a lost Neutral connection).
    Sorry if I have confused you.
    Are you familiar with the balanced Torus RM 20?
    It is connected on it's own dedicated line,using double pole 20 amp breaker it's on two phases at the panel.The dedicated line is wired correctly at the panel.In this instance, the Neutral and hot leg are wired into the double 20 amp breaker, the ground isat the ground buss bar in the panel.This is how you wire the Torus RM 20 balanced.It is not your normal plug it into the wall type of conditioner.
    The torus sees two hot wire at it's 20 amp IEC plug plus the ground wire.Everything as it is supposed to be.
    What is nice about the Torus is that all the power receptacles 's grounds go back to the external ground post.Similar but larger than you find on phono stages to ground your TT.
    This is where I run another 3 strands of #10 romex back to my water pipe which is also most likely where my main panel is grounded outside the house.So in addition to the conventional grounding of my gear to the Torus and back to the panel,I also run a dedicated ground from the Torus back to earth ground.This is what has made the difference,the extra ground wire.The last piece of the puzzle.It's the icing on the cake.

    There were no noise issues before, no hums no buzzes, not even when I ran three separate lines.
    What the extra ground wire does from the Torus is what I assume the Entreq and other grounding devices/schemes do-which is to drain away some more hash that is being pumped back into the system from each component thru the ground.

    I hope this helps you understand,but you have to know how the balanced version of the Torus RM 20 works.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dedicated laptop to stream via USB to CH C1
    By Thieliste in forum CH Precision Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2017, 01:36 PM
  2. Dedicated powerlines, how many?
    By antelion in forum General Audio Forum
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 03-25-2017, 04:09 AM
  3. Dedicated line
    By Sonus in forum Audio and Video Power Product Forum
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-12-2015, 07:03 AM
  4. You are NOT dedicated enough to the hobby!
    By amirm in forum General Audio Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-06-2013, 04:46 PM
  5. Another dedicated line question
    By BFlowers in forum General Audio Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 10:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •