VIP/Donor
Feb 3, 2011
How are u going to shoot it?

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
How are u going to shoot it?

pray for clear skies.

mount my 500mm f4 IS II with my 5DSr on the gimbaled tripod, and my 24-70mm f2.8 II or 70-200mm f2.8 II (for framing flexibility) with the 1DX on another tripod.

pray again for clear skies.

just outside my driveway is the crest of a hill looking east over the mountains (my avatar is looking west), which is always excellent for a beautiful dawn and also for the rising moon. i will need to figure out the optimal time for the moon rise over the mountains so I'm ready.

and again, offer a sacrifice of some sort for clear skies.

Last edited:

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
What settings?

I'm a learning night photographer, my gear is mostly for bird photography where speed and using automatic settings is dominant.

so here is a link to a page that possibly is a little out of date but does hit the high points. basically you want to go 'manual' mostly......

f11, use a tripod and timer. turn off autofocus and image stabilizing. use as low an iso as you can.....the moon will be moving so you don't want a long exposure. possibly do some test shots a few days ahead of time to learn how to do this stuff ahead of time in the dark as the time window for a good shot is quite limited near the horizon.

https://photographylife.com/how-to-photograph-moon

Last edited:

Kingsrule

VIP/Donor
Feb 3, 2011
Thats a great link. I found it awhile ago.

My longest lens is a 200-400 which I'll use with a 1.4 extender. Nikon D3

I'll be in VT so I hope to get some clear sky shots over the Green Mountains.....

About us