Al M.

VIP/Donor
Sep 10, 2013
Greater Boston

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Hard to disagree. "I didn't poll every designer, but if the majority of high-end designers all strove for accuracy, their speakers would sound more and more alike, and the most accurate would all eventually sound exactly the same."

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
Before we get too far, we still have to build consensus on this inescapable truth from Andrew Jones:

"Accuracy in terms of closest approach to the original performance is not practical nor even possible. There is no way to capture an original performance for replay over two channels that can represent the "truth" of that performance. All we can get is a facsimile that is the producer's attempt to capture what he wants to convey to you. As for a studio recording, it is a total construct and has no "original." Therefore, as a speaker designer, my goal is to try and keep the speaker neutral so it is agnostic to the type of music and, to a degree, the replay level. "

Once there, then we can look at 30+ years of research into what most of us prefer, should we take everything other than the sound that the speaker produces.

Right now, a lot of people don't want to go down either one of the above two paths. Instead we like to cling to "everyone likes a different sound so let chaos reign."

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
and this whole speaker accuracy issue led me to start "the most important component" thread, in which I said for me it's the speaker - basically, because of this chaos wrt speaker design, and by extension, what we as consumers/audiophiles perceive as accurate.

rbbert

Dec 12, 2010
Reno, NV
not sure why you think the lack of an absolute sound (as all designers in that piece basically said) is chaos.