URGENT- need help with Meitner XDS1 V2 failure

marty

Apr 20, 2010
United States
I was playing at a loud but not unreasonably loud level and all of sudden, the Meitner dropped dead. Naturally I looked for the fuse. I suspect that some combination of a) the player is not sold in Radio Shack b) it's priced ridiculously high, even for a "hi-end" product and c) I have enough education, degrees and publications to sink a ship- all must account for the fact that I can't find the damned fuse even after looking at the on-line manual. The manual shows that the AC receptacle (male IEC connector) is the "fuse holder". But when I remove the AC Power cord, all I see is 3 prongs and some blue blob at the very top back of the receptacle between the top 2 prongs but I can't figure out what the hell to do with it. Do I push it? Do i pull it? Do I say some sort of incantation to the fuse to magically make it appear?

I've been enjoying this hobby for several decades and have overcome many a difficult problem but I have never felt dumber for owning SOA gear than I do right now. Oh, and I can't wait to learn that when I do find the damn fuse, its probably some esoteric thing that can't be found at Radio Shack and which I'll have to order from Meitner at some exhorbitant cost.

Seriously, any help would be appreciated.
Marty

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
Looks like the power supply is sealed Marty. Unless the fuse receptacle is in the bottom of the unit (which I highly doubt) it looks like you'll either have to open up the SMPS casing or have a dealer do it for you. I realize in your time zone offices must be closed by now. DO you want me to try and contact the local dealer here to confirm? It's only 1:30pm, although a Saturday and with a BIG storm coming, there's a chance I'll get an answer for you.

jtinn

Industry Expert
Apr 20, 2010