Studer A80 - Tape rubbing against casing

Rissi

Aug 8, 2019
Hi Guys.

I have a problem with my Studer A80. The tape is being pulled too low by the first tape guide component. This results in the tape rubbing against the tape casing making a very annoying noise.
Please see the attached photo and video.

It seems like the tape guide is a bit too low and therefore pulls the tape downwards. I think getting it like 1 mm. up could solve the problem, but I'm very new to tape machines and don't want to risk damaging anything and the screw is very tight.

in advance, thank you so much for your help :)

Video link:
IMG_0039.jpg

Jan 18, 2012
Drobak Norway
might have happened under a change of bearings
originally there are often small calibrated spacers under the tension roller bearing house and if they´re omitted or the new bearings have slightly deviating dimensions, this might be the result
Audiohouse in Switzerland probably have some of different thickness, so you could get it right
but I´d recommend to get a pro to look at it and do a prober alignment/calibration, especially if your playing something valuable on the machine....
good luck

mpdonahue

Mar 16, 2015
You have a bent flange on your supply reel. It is clearly visible in the video.
There is a reel height adjustment, but it was designed for the differences between precision flanges, which are thicker and typically used on the multitrack machines and standard flanges you find on 1/4" and 1/2" reels.
The transport on the A80 is a precision web guidance transport, which means that every element in the transport is aligned to a flat plane made of precision ground flats on the transport casting. Any monkeying with these elements without the special tools that Studer sold for aligning transport elements will cause the machine to behave poorly.

jdza

May 3, 2010