Software to clean up mpeg4 files

BlueFox

Member Sponsor
Nov 8, 2013
Being into audio, a co-worker asked me today what software would be good to clean up (remove noise) four mpeg4 files from a lecture, and then merge them into one file. Naturally, this is one area where I have zero experience. :)

Any recommendations I can pass on. Thanks.

Fiddle Faddle

Aug 7, 2015
Australia
Not really no. To do what you mentioned would require an audio workstation. Though this could just be a PC with editing software such as Sound Forge Pro for example. Well, at least I mean that is the way I do it and I would not attempt any other way even if there was one. The files would need to be converted to an editable format such as PCM, then edited to remove the noise (which in itself may be anything from a simple process to a very complex one requiring a lot of experience). Then the edited files are concatenated within the software then converted back to whatever format is required (in this case the original one).

I'm not aware of any "quick fix" method to do what you want. It requires expensive software and possibly a lot of experience depending on the noise components that have to be removed. It could also be incredibly time consuming again depending on the nature of the noise.

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com