So here's what Neil Young and others were hinting at ...

rblnr

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
May 3, 2010
NYC/NJ

RogerD

VIP/Donor
May 23, 2010
BiggestLittleCity
Doesn't surprise me one bit.

Phelonious Ponk

Jun 30, 2010
It doesn't surprise me either. On the surface, investsing in hi-res digital downloads and portable players capable of storing and playing them, is a bad business decision. I hope Apple is still a visionary company, but it takes more than that to invest in very long-term visions for which there is no immediate market. That takes a visionary individual with power. These kinds of decisions are almost never made collaboratively.

As far as Neil is concerned..."My goal is to rescue the art form that I've been practicing for about 50 years," said Young...he could accomplish much more focusing on his own industry. A 256kbps file of a great master with good dynamics and excellent tonal balance will sound 1000% better than a brick-walled, treble-juiced, record executive's idea of a good recording at any rate of resolution.

Tim

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
...he could accomplish much more focusing on his own industry. A 256kbps file of a great master with good dynamics and excellent tonal balance will sound 1000% better than a brick-walled, treble-juiced, record executive's idea of a good recording at any rate of resolution.
Tim

+1 ;)

Johnny Vinyl

May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
As far as Neil is concerned..."My goal is to rescue the art form that I've been practicing for about 50 years," said Young...he could accomplish much more focusing on his own industry. A 256kbps file of a great master with good dynamics and excellent tonal balance will sound 1000% better than a brick-walled, treble-juiced, record executive's idea of a good recording at any rate of resolution.

Tim