MSB Diamond DAC and Universal Media Transport

docvale

Mar 21, 2011
Briarcliff Manor, NY
the MSB Universal Transport is a super-hot rodded Oppo Blu-Ray player...with separate powersupply, new buffer, and other things...i'm no techie. Bottom line, it should do everything an oppo can do...which should include dvd-a, blu-ray, cd, sacd...and because it is proprietary out to its own DAC...i believe the i2s should take the sacd signal too...please check on this, but it should work since its effectively remaining encrypted. I know you said no sacd, but it is part of the UMT.

AFAIK, the UMT outputs always PCM, and SACD is converted to PCM before going to the DAC through their proprietary connector.
Anyway, MSB was listed among those producers which are agreeing on a common platform to stream native DSD, so something may change...

rockitman

Member Sponsor
Sep 20, 2011
Northern NY
Hi Bruce,

Since I have no DSD..all pcm, I suppose the MSB is the way to go. Any idea on real pricing...ie average % off of msrp listed on their site ?

Bruce...you have the Diamond DAC lV ?

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
Hi Bruce,

Since I have no DSD..all pcm, I suppose the MSB is the way to go. Any idea on real pricing...ie average % off of msrp listed on their site ?

The most I've heard from regular folk is about 5-10%... not much. Dealers pretty much stick close to MSRP! Not much markup.

hvbias

Jun 22, 2012
New England area
The MSB Diamond is the best PCM I've heard and the Playback is the best DSD I've heard... .that's why I have both! :D

JA's measurements of the Playback SACD player said the noise floor was so high that it wasn't capable of resolving what DSD can do?

Andreas Koch didn't refute the measurements in his letter to the editor.

Bruce B

Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
JA's measurements of the Playback SACD player said the noise floor was so high that it wasn't capable of resolving what DSD can do?