I can't believe it

As I say all the time, it is a matter of system. You can have the best preamplifier in the world (something that does not exist ...) and if it does not match your system (room included) it will not sound good.

So true micro. System matching is everything. In hindsight, I wish I had used a different preamp with the Pass Labs X-250. It didn’t work worth a damn with my 5.1 and I blamed the amp and sold it. I would love to hear it again.

Recently I also went solid state for a few days - a complete Krell system using their entry models - S300i and S350i CD. Not bad, but I still prefer my tubes (unhappily as they are 10 times more expensive).

I have never owned any Krell gear so I have no first-hand experience with it in my system. People seem to be of two minds with Krell. They either love the gear for a number of good reasons-build quality, Class A circuitry, power, bass slam; or they hate Krell gear for sounding cold and sterile.

And of course we should never judge an entire technology based on one company’s design implementation. I’m just keeping my ears open and learning a few things along the way.

An electronics engineer told me once that Krell uses power supply transistors in its output to provide that slam and extra low impedance and control, an otherwise inappropriate device for musicality. Take it for what it's worth. I had a single Krell mega amp in my audio career, and it lasted about 1 month because of its lack of musicality...

For whatever reason, I have never lusted after Krell gear which is why I have never owned any.

I have never owned any Krell gear so I have no first-hand experience with it in my system. People seem to be of two minds with Krell. They either love the gear for a number of good reasons-build quality, Class A circuitry, power, bass slam; or they hate Krell gear for sounding cold and sterile.
+1

I have not heard a Krell centred setup that did not have major flaws.

Frank