Cocktail Audio AKA Novatron X40 Server

Crazy Steve

Nov 18, 2019
This may not be the place for this, but I couldn't find another forum that seemed appropriate...

I've been eyeing a 'music server' for quite a few years, but the technical expertise apparently required to assemble a home-built computer-based system is beyond me. All the advocates of these that I've talked to tell me 'it's simple' but their explanations quickly devolve into technobabble; I'm not particularly computer savvy. So I've waited for the audio manufacturers to answer the call with a ready-made component, which they have done.

Now, I'm rarely an early adopter, as I've found that waiting will generally get you a more 'mature' product (last try at early adoption resulted in my owning a DAT recorder...LOL). I'm on a budget (retired on a fixed income) so I don't have unlimited funds; I'm looking at $2.5 K or less. Some are simply too expensive, but clunky OS's, limited features, and less than sterling reviews have kept me away so far. I've also been holding out for one that looks like a 'component' that can be installed in a cabinet along with the rest of my gear, which has further limited my choices. I started looking at the Sony unit, but it's limitations turned me off... So that brings me to the X40...