Inferno-Dan Brown's latest novel

Steve Williams

Site Founder, Site Owner, Administrator
I'm a huge Dan Brown fan and look forward to reading this one

Da Vinci Code author Dan Brown announced the title of his next novel, Inferno, in characteristically cryptic fashion, relying on thousands of fans to fill in a "social media photomosaic using Facebook and Twitter." (Watch the video announcement for Inferno below.) The new book, which is scheduled for release on May 14, 2013, is the fourth outing for Brown's signature protagonist Robert Langdon, who debuted in 2000's Angels & Demons and last appeared in 2009's The Lost Symbol. What can Brown's legions of fans expect from Inferno? A guide:

First — why Inferno?
"Although I studied Dante's Inferno in high school, it wasn't until recently, while researching in Florence, that I came to appreciate the enduring influence of Dante's work on the modern world," said Brown in a statement. "With this new novel, I am excited to take readers on a journey deep into this mysterious realm... a landscape of codes, symbols, and more than a few secret passageways."

Is there any other information on Inferno's plot?
Amazon's book description offers this info: "In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology, Robert Langdon, is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history's most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces... Dante's Inferno. Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante's dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust... before the world is irrevocably altered."

What do critics think?