Thelonious Monk Quartet - The Complete Columbia Studio Albums Collection

ADGold

Feb 7, 2013
Toronto, Canada
Admittedly, I'm fairly new to jazz. However, I've been buying, listenting and digesting Monk albums at a torrid pace. In fact, I don't ever recall being this fascinated with a singular artist. Contrary to popular opinion, I believe his years with Columbia consist of his finest output. Specifically, tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse seems to be the perfect compainion for Monk. Altough Coltrane is far more accomplished and dexterous, I don't find myself enjoying the combination of the two legends playing together on Monk's standards (either on the Riverside recordings or the Carengie Hall Concert). Furthermore, I find the acclaimed GOMM Vol 1 and 2 albums contain tracks that are far too short to demonstrate his unique skills. This collection, at around $35, is a treasure and a great value. Incredible packaging (although a little light on the liner notes) and more importantly, great sound. Let's this thread also be an opportunity to discuss other great Monk albums.

http://www.stereophile.com/content/ithe-thelonious-monk-quartet-complete-columbia-studio-albums-collectioni

LL21

Dec 26, 2010