Why do tube amps roll off high frequencies?

MadFloyd

Member Sponsor
May 30, 2010
Mass
I'd like to understand this if someone doesn't mind explaining it in layman terms.

Would also like to know if high frequency roll off is inevitable, always around the same frequency etc.

Thanks in advance.

audioarcher

May 6, 2012
Seattle area
I'm no expert but from what I've read and heard the output transformer is responsible for the roll off. I'm sure it depends on the bandwidth of the particular transformer though. Then there are OTL designs that don't use an output transformer. Of the OTL's I've heard I have not notice rolled off highs.

I've also noticed rolled off highs on the McIntosh solid state amps that use an output transformer. They call it an autoformer I'm not sure what the distinction is?

Maybe Atmasphere will chime in. I'm sure he can explain it better.

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
Look up inductance and transformers on Wikipedia or some such. Inductors pass DC and low-frequency but block high frequencies (capacitors do the opposite). Transformers are coupled inductors; two or more inductors that work together. There are transformers that work into the microwave range, but audio transformers tend to be large to handle the power, and have lots of windings to convert from the high-impedance tube plates to low-impedance speakers. That all reduces their bandwidth. An autoformer is a tapped transformer that is often configured as a single continuous winding instead of isolated coupled coils. It is also used to provide impedance transformation.

GaryProtein

VIP/Donor
Jul 25, 2012
NY
. . . . I've also noticed rolled off highs on the McIntosh solid state amps that use an output transformer. They call it an autoformer I'm not sure what the distinction is?. . . .