Why DIY computer-based music servers are not ready for me

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
I have been researching this subject for the last two years. Unsurprising to many, my overall conclusion is that there are two main issues: a) the computer has to be extra-ordinarily optimized, like everything else in the audio chain; and b) USB is an inferior interface to AES/EBU. Convenience aside, to invest, thus, in such a source system I would then have to be itching to own true hi-rez material, like RR HRx, which I don't since 16-bit + HDCD comes close enough to true hi-rez, therefore not worth my trouble. Subsequently, it then became a simple question for me: could I come up with a computer configuration (hardware and software) that would be more optimized than a stellar transport like the Spectral SDR-3000 and the Berkeley Alpha DAC, which I use, using the AES/EBU interface?

On the hardware side, as a consumer, it's virtually impossible to figure out what exactly works best (see more below). On the OS side, Windows-based servers appear not to be the best candidates for this type of application, but UNIX-based, like mach2music.com (or any Mac-based) perhaps fit the bill better. Sadly, mach2music has been out of business for some time now. Some folks have gone to extraordinary lengths to optimize the playback, like Jplay that's been discussed here a number of times. TAS, in its January 2012 issue, features a very nice article that attempts to rate ripping, playback, burning and other software, and at the top we find a couple of offerings, like JRiver for ripping and the user interface plus JPlay as the preferred playback as a plugin to JRiver, in Hibernate mode to shut down as much of the Windows PC functions as possible, and for other reasons like loading the entire track in memory before playback. This combination is apparently favored over Foobar2000 and cPlay (by many on the net as well as the reviewer below).