New Male RCA Connector

MylesBAstor

Apr 20, 2010
New York City
deleted

Last edited:

LL21

Dec 26, 2010
Thanks, Myles. I am no techie, but know a few manufacturers...one of the uses only Xhadow and thinks they're great. Prefers them over any others personally and in his business. I have a pair of Xhadow XLRs on one of my custom-terminated ICs at his doing...but never compared.

MylesBAstor

Apr 20, 2010
New York City
Thanks, Myles. I am no techie, but know a few manufacturers...one of the uses only Xhadow and thinks they're great. Prefers them over any others personally and in his business. I have a pair of Xhadow XLRs on one of my custom-terminated ICs at his doing...but never compared.

Jeff Day over at 6 Moons did a comparison of the Xshadow and two other connectors.

MylesBAstor

Apr 20, 2010
New York City
Impressive engineering indeed. Must be a pricey little bugger...

Not sure what the retail will be Don but can check. Not sure it's been finalized.

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
That looks like a lot of machining, and the capture mechanisms in the barrel (with all the extra machining on barrel and pin) are very sweet. Mostly air dielectric, too. I am sure it is way out of my price range, and I have not looked inside any other high-end RCA plugs recently, but that is one impressive design.

Phelonious Ponk

Jun 30, 2010
What I've always understood from the pro sound people I've known, is that the best contact doesn't come from a super-tight grip on the connector, but from a snug nice fit that gets moved periodically to refresh the metal to metal contact. In portable audio, that happens naturally, Otherwise it requires a bit of a turn back and forth from time to time. But that could be all wrong. If a death grip that threatens to disassemble your pre's back panel upon removal is the right solution, though, that's an impressive piece of design work. What do they run?

Tim

DonH50

Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO