Asynchronous Sample Rate conversion (ASRC) DACs

jkeny

Industry Expert, Member Sponsor
Feb 9, 2012
Ireland
What are people's view on ASRCs? I find that an ASRC benefits highish to medium jitter sources but invariably masks the benefits of low jitter sources.
I always am suspicious when a number of different inputs into a DAC all sound the same! It could be that the DAC is doing such a good job of jitter reduction that it makes all inputs behave at their best but in my experience, with DACs that have defeatable ASRCs, they sound better without ASRC when using low jitter sources. Even the ESS DACs, that have a supposedly very sophisticated ASRC, sound better when ASRC is turned off.

Any experiences to relate?

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
<Off-topic as I have no direct experience to relate. It is an interesting subject so hopefully this post will not be offensive.>

Obviously many things other than jitter can cause sonic degradation, and it is difficult to isolate the effects of ASRC from everything else going on in the design, including the effect of sample rate conversion. Having all sources sound the same, I am not sure exactly what that means. If jitter is eliminated as an error source, then all sources should sound as good as the low-jitter sources, yes? Any other effects, assuming all esle is the same, must be related to the sample rate conversion. SRC itself introduces all sorts of other variables, natch.

Random thoughts - Don

jkeny

Feb 9, 2012
Ireland
<Off-topic as I have no direct experience to relate. It is an interesting subject so hopefully this post will not be offensive.>

Obviously many things other than jitter can cause sonic degradation, and it is difficult to isolate the effects of ASRC from everything else going on in the design, including the effect of sample rate conversion.