Review: Da Vinci Grandezza Reference Tonearm (first posted July 2008)

cjfrbw

Apr 20, 2010
Pleasanton, CA
I bought this arm because of its physical beauty. It is probably my first audio purchase where I was as interested in the appearance as the sound. This is the earlier generation arm with the U shaped gimbal housing and aged brass with cocobolo wood arm. I like the weathered brass look, and I prefer the appearance of the antique brass over the newer more gilded arms that have anodizing. However, the newer arms are quite beautiful as well.
I am not a tonearm expert. I have never heard a Graham, Wheaton, or Continuum arm, but have stuck with the SME series, having owned SME 10, 20 and now 30 turntables, starting with the 309 arm an now the SME IV-VI on the SME 30. I have heard high end arms in other systems and dealer systems such as Shindo and Rockport.
My comments are about the Grandezza arm replacing the SME IV-VI, with the cartridge, table and all other system components exactly the same. My system is viewable through the link by my moniker.