Dma 180s2 with what MIT speaker cable?

Mag

Apr 8, 2012
Hi guys, my setup is red wine Isabella tube pre , spectral dma180s2 , plinius cdp 101 , Von schweikert unified 3 speaker, using asi liveline interconnects and analysis plus sc for tweeter n yter sc for bass module of unifield 3. In audiogon, it has been discussed that u need not use MIT ic if not using spectral pre.

I understand not using MIT sc might cause the spectral power amp to oscillate , eventually burning the output stages. I been using the power amp for a few days with no issue except the rubber feets starting to melt and I hv removed the feets, replacing it symposium roller blocks.

Could u advise if I still need MIT speaker cables and ic? If yes, could a kind soul recommend the model? Budget less than 5 k for 2nd hand MIT speaker cable. Is 850 cvt ok? Oracle model seems not compatible with dma 180s2?

Sorry I'm a newbie so asking loads of qns

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Welcome. Spectral amps have no input chokes either, so you need the MIT interconnects. Terry here from Overture will be able to explain more. You replace the sorbothane feet with the current knurled feet...

Mag

Apr 8, 2012
Thanks bro, so if I'm not using spectral pre at the moment, getting the MIT ic will be safe for moment. Any recommendation?

ack

May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Thanks bro, so if I'm not using spectral pre at the moment, getting the MIT ic will be safe for moment. Any recommendation?

Our friend here 1rsw is selling a pair of the ones I use (recent with black jacket) - see http://app.audiogon.com/listings/spectral-mit-mi-350-ulii-1m

No one has been able to convince me I need anything more than this. Otherwise, you can talk to Joe Abrams (Equus Audio) on a'gon and he can direct you...

nirodha

Aug 11, 2010
Our friend here 1rsw is selling a pair of the ones I use (recent with black jacket) - see http://app.audiogon.com/listings/spectral-mit-mi-350-ulii-1m