The Golden Age of Records

Jun 17, 2011
White Rock, New Mexico
HI Folks,
I need your help. I need to talk to group of people who are experts on records. Who better to ask than a group of people who have spent a huge number of years listening and collecting records? Who better to ask than a group of people who know and appreciate great sound? Who better to ask than a group of people who have spent a lifetime evaluating equipment, constantly updating, for the purpose of pure musical pleasure?

You, that’s who. Who better?

Here is the question. What made the Golden Age of Records golden? I have some ideas which I will lay out here. But, I’m not sure I’m right. I would love your carefully considered comments and thoughts. One thing is sure. There are good reasons but I’ve not seen anyone really define them. Let’s give it a shot.

I’m going to write as though I know what I’m talking about. In truth, I’m no expert but I have given the subject a great deal of thought. We do have a set of facts we can use as markers. Some may claim that the start is when the microgroove record was introduced by Columbia in 1948. The next milestone is the introduction of stereo records using the 45/45 cutting system, the one that is still used today, in 1958 or 1959. Since then, the physical record producing process has not changed at all in terms of the system that is used.

The term Golden Age is used to segregate records which were produced during a certain time span that possess truly outstanding sound. I’m going to define the Golden Age of records from 1958 (the beginning of stereo records) to 1965. This sound has never been matched in all the years since (with the exception of Sheffield). Many Golden Age records are collector’s items that sell for astronomical prices. Why is this?