Denon 103

flez007

Member Sponsor
Aug 31, 2010
Mexico City
I am setting up a second turntable in my system, a Luxman PD444 which can have two arms installed, my plan is to get a 12 inch arm (maybe a Jelco 750 or a Ridge wood) and get a Denon 103R.

Anyone familiar with this cartridge and its several editions? Which model is the best value? (including maybe the Zu version)....

Thanks for sharing your ideas.

mep

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
I still have a Denon 103R laying around. I consider it to be a "stupid good" cartridge for the money. I know that everybody and their grandmother is modifying this cartridge and I have no experience with the mod muckers. Bone stock, it's damn good. Compared to the higher priced spread, it lacks refinement. You also need a good head amp with lots of gain or a transformer because the output is very low (.23mv).

puroagave

Member Sponsor
Sep 29, 2011
my experience is with the Dl103R, lengendary as you know. it works best with high mass arms the 12" jelco should work well with it. a popular mod is the substitution of the pastic body with a wood one like Uwe Bretscheider's or the CNC'd bodies from stero lab in germany http://www.stereo-lab.de/EN/cartridges/mc-moving-coil/rosenholzgehaeuse/index.htm thomas schick has vid up on youtube on how to properly remove the body.

My dl103r has pride of place next to my koetsu and ikeda. the audio snobs write them off because of the low cost, i think many havent heard one in a proper high mass arm. the ouput is low, either a high gain SS pre or a step-up with a tubed unit. denon's au300 are ridiculously good for the money.

garylkoh

WBF Technical Expert (Speakers & Audio Equipment)
Sep 6, 2010
Seattle, WA
www.genesisloudspeakers.com
Fernando, I'm using 6 different ones. See this post for two of them. http://www.whatsbestforum.com/showt...s-Everyone-Using&p=88933&viewfull=1#post88933