Just a "po boy" tryin to have some fun!

Hxt1

Nov 28, 2011
Vancouver B.C.
Hello all, I'm brand new to the 'tape thing' but of course, I've jumped in with wild abandon.
I put 'po boy' in the heading because I'm a shoestring budget, DIY type of audiophile (hate that word)!
I started down this road a while back, after hearing the buzz about vinyl, and getting a big stack of my fathers records, I went from Solid State reciever, to big pentode tubes, to flea power, horns, and vinyl..
After reading about the 'Mighty Lenco' I got into DIY, building a Slate Lenco, and some Back Loaded Horns... and that was it, My CD collection began gathering dust. ffwd to 3 months ago, I had been reading about Doc B's Tape Project, and the accompanying buzz, and I knew it was just a matter of time..
I now have 8 decks in varying state of function.
The first deck I got was a Tandberg 74b, it was misrepresented as working flawlessly, and overpriced, but I'm a sucker for tubes, soooo... it's 'on the shelf' for now. Next came an Akai 4000ds mkII. The little consumer grade 7.5 ips 4 track, I found it for $40, cleaned it up and threaded a copy of Beatles Revolver.... The first few seconds of playback told me I was onto something special!
The main deck in my system now is a Pioneer rt707, it's easy to thread, auto reverse, and sounds fantastic! Of course I HAD to give 'Reel-Lady' and 'crebasil' a bunch of my money and put together a library of sorts: Miles Davis, Brubeck, Zeppelin, Beatles, and of course, a pile of classical Barclay-Crocker tapes, etc...
BUT.... I knew without doubt there was more fun to be had, and I wasn't having it! We all know that feeling. I really need 15ips IEC/NAB capability.
And that is how I came to own 8 reel to reel decks.