My Vintage Journey So Far: Part 1

tmallin

WBF Technical Expert
May 19, 2010
Chicagoland
I was excited to see Marty DeWulf's coverage of vintage audio in Bound For Sound issue 199/200. Since he asked for comments from those with experience in vintage audio, I wrote the following to him to share my current thoughts:

1. I agree that many of those now interested in vintage audio got into it as a result of wanting to acquire something we lusted after when we were young, but were denied back then due to lack of funds, parental controls, etc. That is so in my case.

I graduated high school in 1970, so I'm only about three years older than you and thus share most of the same equipment memories. I grew up in the heyday of AR--Acoustic Research--speakers. I vividly remember my older brother taking me at age 12 to the AR demonstration room ( http://www.classicspeakerpages.net/...omponents/ar_high_fidelity_components_16.html ) in Manhattan's Grand Central Station where visitors could hear the same material played first through the AR-4x, then the AR-2ax, AR-5, and finally the top-of-the-line AR-3a speakers. I could fully appreciate the gains in clarity and extension of each costlier model even then. Oh, how I yearned to own those magnificent AR 3a's! In my very early teens, even though I'd saved my allowance and other earnings and thought I could afford an AR-3a, AR Amp, AR XA turntable, and Shure V15II system, my parents thought otherwise. Thus, my first component system, purchased at age 14, was comprised of an AR XA turntable, Shure M91E cartridge, AR-4x speakers, and a Dynaco SCA-35 integrated tube amp. Not bad for my age, even so.

My older brother bought a system comprised of AR-5 speakers, AR Receiver, and the Empire 598 turntable and Empire cartridge. I loved the sound of that system. It totally put mine in the shade.