Spotify--The True Paradigm Changer

Mobiusman

May 24, 2010
Jersey Shore- waterside
I have been using Spotify in its free form for several months and have basically shifted from Pandora because of the ability to find specific songs as opposed to genres. Last week I finally upgraded to Spotify Premium for $9.99/mos and my audio listening habits have changed dramatically already.

What one gets for the extra $10/mos is no commercials, no time limits AND mobile and better bit streams. The first two enhancements speak for themselves, but the second two may need a little explaining to understand how great they are. Connect your iPhone or Droid into your car system and you now have your entire music library wherever you go, plus the option to explore millions of other songs.

However, for people on this site the increased bit rate is the reason to go this way. The audible enhancement is obvious, even to to those listeners who proclaim that they cannot hear the difference between your big rig and their iPod. But here is the best reason of all. Spotify will take your playlists from iTunes and then draws on the tracks from their database and stream hi res files when available. I did a direct AB using a hard connection to my hard drive and compared the MP3's played back through iTunes and Spotify using the iTunes playlist. No more concern about Amarra or waiting for iTunes 11. This is the way to go.

Last edited:

Phelonious Ponk

Jun 30, 2010
Spotify rocks. You're absolutely right, it's a paradigm shift.

Tim

hvbias

Jun 22, 2012
New England area

Groucho

Aug 18, 2012
UK