Parasound or Cary?

Rutgar

Apr 20, 2010
Dallas Area
mysite.verizon.net
Wanting to get better performance for 2-channel listening than what I’m currently getting using my Classe’ SSP-30 Pre/Pro, I am looking at a 2-channel pre/line amplifier with HT bypass solution.

What is on my radar scope is the Parasound Halo JC-2, or the Cary SLP-05.

Both preamps have HT bypass, and both are highly recommended products by TAS and Stereophile magazines.

The Parasound is half the price of the Cary, but I am really more concerned about sound quality for 2-channel listening, and I like the idea that the Cary is a tube preamp (although I have no experience with tubes, other than when I was a kid, and we used to play with the tube testers, once located at all of the convenience stores!).

So... what do you guys think? I know there are some great pre/line amps out there, but I’m trying to keep the budget under control, which is why I am focusing on these two units.

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
I was with Tony Weber (Cary) at the 2010 RMAF. They had an all Cary system going into a pair of Usher Mini Dancer 2. The digital front-end was out of our studio. The sound was some of the best I've heard... and also won a Positive Feedback Oasis award. What the source files or the amp/pre contributed is anyones guess.

Kal Rubinson

May 4, 2010
NYC
www.stereophile.com
Wanting to get better performance for 2-channel listening than what I’m currently getting using my Classe’ SSP-30 Pre/Pro, I am looking at a 2-channel pre/line amplifier with HT bypass solution.

What is on my radar scope is the Parasound Halo JC-2, or the Cary SLP-05.

Both preamps have HT bypass, and both are highly recommended products by TAS and Stereophile magazines.