Confessions of a audio tweaker and the quest for the live illusion.

RogerD

VIP/Donor
May 23, 2010
BiggestLittleCity
After reading and adding my 2 cents to some of the "live" and low level distortion threads. I thought I would tell you what I have learned or experienced over 40+ years in audio.

The key to great sound is getting rid of as much electrical hash as possible.

What does that mean? Well it can become as involved or simple as you want.

Now I am not a technical engineer so my conclusions can be dismissed out of hand or embraced in some measure. If you do,do some of the things mentioned,please vet everything.

By far the biggest improvement in sound in my system has been to ground it correctly. That is creating a earth ground for the preamp,amplifiers,source and whatever is tied to the preamp. I created a super highway back to ground so all or most of the "crap" noise can be given a exit from my system.

There is just alot of RFI &EMI pollution and just plain low level noise created and is inherent in the current that we call "power".

Now some equipment is just fine as the grounding scheme is done correctly, but in my experience that is not always the case.

Has all the money spent on cables,capacitors, and better equipment been a waste? No! that is part of the solution if those items reduce the low level noise in your system.

The solution is cumualtive in my experience. As each step is taken it will effect everything, right down to the type of circuit,capacitors used,cabling, ground scheme of the equipment and so forth.

I have had the same preamp for 35 years. I recapped it 3 years ago with low noise electrolytics,it did make a difference.

I have upgraded my cables to better ones that reduce EMI &RFI contamination. It did make a difference,but I do use pro audio style cables that are "cheap" in my long runs and they sound fine. They are after the main body of cables I have in place.