How do you make audio "cool" to bring in new blood?

caesar

May 30, 2010
To grow, the audio industry needs new blood. Anyone have any thoughts on how to make the industry cool?

- Joint ventures with Apple?
- Publicity with celebrities considered "cool" by people under 40?
- Get articles written in GQ?
- Audiophile Branded car stereos in downmarket cars?

?????

garylkoh

WBF Technical Expert (Speakers & Audio Equipment)
Sep 6, 2010
Seattle, WA
www.genesisloudspeakers.com
This is something I've been ranting about for the past 5 years - the US audio industry will go the way of the dodo bird if it does not re-invent itself. Here are some ideas (not in order of merit - just what comes to mind first):

1. Grow the pie together instead of slicing it up before it's had a chance to grow
  2. Manufacturers need to support each other and be positive towards competition
  3. A national Buy American campaign (this should not be restricted just to audio)
  4. Support the music industry and vice versa
  5. Be open and inventive - not everybody is out to steal your ideas
  6. Turn listening to reproduced music into a social activity

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
To grow, the audio industry needs new blood. Anyone have any thoughts on how to make the industry cool?

- Joint ventures with Apple?
- Publicity with celebrities considered "cool" by people under 40?
- Get articles written in GQ?
- Audiophile Branded car stereos in downmarket cars?

?????

you don't worry about it. high end audio either is worthy of sustaining itself or it's not. the passion should be contaigious.

personally i approach this issue just like any other question in this hobby; it's all about listening and being captivated by what you hear. when people hear i'm an audiophile i invite them to come listen. many accept my invitation and a good percentage of those have become serious about the hobby.