hello from Rock-N-Roll capital

ted_b

Feb 4, 2011
Hi. I am a 57 (next week) yr old semi-retired software exec in NE Ohio. I am excited about this forum, as it seems to be a who’s who of experienced amateur and professional audio nuts, getting along, and discussing such things as “is 24/192” enough, and “is tonal transparency an oxymoron”. Very cool.

I am a veteran of audio forums, and am creator/moderator of Audio Circle’s HiRez Music forum. I am a DAC aholic, having demo’d inhouse over a dozen hirez DACs in the past year. That being said, I am needing to redo some of that evaluation since my room acoustic makeover this past month (pics of room in link)

http://www.whatsbestforum.com/showthread.php?2717-My-room-s-acoustic-makeover

I am also a huge multichannel fan, and have invested heavily in every surround format since day one, with a complete full range ITU setup. My plebian Oppo BDp-83 SE is either my ninth or tenth universal player, which has included modded ones, Sony’s earliest SACD flagships, etc. One reason m y listening environment has involved so much work and room treatments is due to the fact that I am successfully marrying a dedicated 5.1 surround signal path with a great dedicated 2.0 stereo listening space (I also run 7.1 with dipole surrounds but that’s for movies only and is separately amplified, etc).
The core of my space is my speaker setup, a set of largely unknown SP Tech Revelation MR-1 mk 2 speakers (with custom external Mundorf crossovers and Aether Audio magic boxes). Bob Smith is the genius behind SP tech 9now Aether Audio) and I’ve become very close to Bob throughout the years. Although a huge favorite of reviewers like Jim Merod, Bob needs one big break to make it to the brand awareness levels of Devore, etc. I own Bob’s full range Revelations, and three full range Continuums (center, music surrounds) which are the MTM portion of the Revs (without the t-line).

Sources:
Macbook SSD with external USB/FW music (16/44 through DXD 24/384)