Rebuild A90 or new Per Windfeld Ti?

Wrm57

Oct 30, 2012
Hi Folks,

I posted this question on Audiogon to no response. Hopefully, users here will have more experience to share. My venerable A90 went tits up, or rather, diamond down: the stylus was pulled off by blue tack during cleaning (a practice recommended by Peter Ledermann). So I’m debating whether to have Ortofon rebuild it (again) or trade it in for a new Per Windfeld Ti. The cost difference to me would be $750 more for the Windfeld. Has anyone compared the two? Thoughts on the Windfeld Ti would also be appreciated.

Thanks, Bill

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
Bill, Sorry to hear that you had this problem with your A90. Blue Tack for cleaning...YIKES!!! Remember what business Peter Ledermann is in...just saying!:eek:

mullard88

Jun 5, 2010
Perhaps you can check the cost of having it repaired by Soundsmith.

I have no experience with the Per Windfeld Ti.

Wrm57

Oct 30, 2012
Thanks for the responses, guys. Actually, I had this A90 retipped by Peter a year ago and he did fine job, attaching a new Replicant 100 stylus to the old cantilever at a cost of $450, IIRC. Before that, some four years ago, I had Ortofon do their full rebuild on it (yes, I listen to a lot of records). Sonically, I cannot say with any conviction which was the better outcome. So Soundsmith is a good option, yes, but at this point, if I'm going to keep listening to this A90, I think I'd have Ortofon do their number again. For all practical purposes, they give you back a new cartridge in the old housing, with a new serial number and everything.

The bigger question for me is whether I might prefer the Per Windfeld Ti. On paper, it looks essentially like an A95 in its internals and components, housed in a different body. Everyone I know who has spent time with both the A90 and A95 prefers the latter. But there's not much info out there on how the Windfeld Ti sounds.