RIP | Theoretical physicist Stephen Hawking has died at 76

wisnon

Dec 12, 2011
Why dont you take up the mantle then?

I dont see why the despair...dont you believe in the power of the individual?

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
Sad, but thankful and respectful of his very significant contributions. I had the honor of attending a couple of his lectures around the local universities - fascinating talks.

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
Why dont you take up the mantle then?

Me Norm? I'm not a scientist I'm a retired audiophile.

I dont see why the despair...dont you believe in the power of the individual?

No despair, just a genuine sadness to have lost one of the great scientists of our times. ...Tumultuous times if I may say.

An individual by himself is nowhere near the power of an universal together.

Pb Blimp

Oct 30, 2017
USA
On Pi day too....................

Ronm1

Member Sponsor
Feb 21, 2011
wtOMitMutb NH
^How appropriate!

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
On Pi day too....................

I didn't know that, you are right.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pi_Day
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Hawking

"Hawking died at his home in Cambridge, England, early in the morning of 14 March 2018. His family did not reveal the cause of his death, only stating that he "died peacefully".
___

Science vs. philosophy
"At Google's Zeitgeist Conference in 2011, Hawking said that "philosophy is dead". He believed that philosophers "have not kept up with modern developments in science" and that scientists "have become the bearers of the torch of discovery in our quest for knowledge". He said that philosophical problems can be answered by science, particularly new scientific theories which "lead us to a new and very different picture of the universe and our place in it".

Last edited:

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
And on Albert Einstein's birthday!

Wow!

? https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Einstein