211 valves: please share your experiences

Audiocrack

Aug 10, 2012
A while back I played with Audio Note/Kondo Gakuon amps. The Gakuon uses two 211 valves in parallel. At the time I only listened to the Gakuons with General Electric 211 tubes. Although I liked the Gakuons very much in the end I preferred the Kondo (300B) Gakuoh amps.

Lately I returned to my ‘211-love’ with the Kondo Kagura amps. These amps also employ two 211 tubes in parallel. So far I played the Kagura’s with their stock Kondo 211 valves as well as with a matched quod RCA 211 valves dating from 1942.

So my experience with 211 tubes is rather limited: I only listened to the three mentioned brands in Kondo amps and never heard any of the other vintage/nos 211 valves such as those from United Electronics, Amperex or others.

I have no experience at all with modern 211 valves such as for example the Elrogs.

So my question to all WBF members is the following: could you please share your experiences with any of the vintage and modern 211 tubes with us?

Of the various 211 tubes I have heard so far in my amps the RCA’s are clearly my favourites.

Last edited:

Jon

Oct 23, 2012
I have a ANJ Ongaku built by Kondo San. The best tubes are the RCA’s, they are getting very hard to obtain. United’s are nearly impossible. NOS GE’s are very good, but not in the RCA category. I have no experience with modern 21’s.

Audiocrack

Aug 10, 2012
I have a ANJ Ongaku built by Kondo San. The best tubes are the RCA’s, they are getting very hard to obtain. United’s are nearly impossible. NOS GE’s are very good, but not in the RCA category. I have no experience with modern 21’s.

Thanks much Jon. In what way(s) do the RCA 211 tubes beat the GE 211 valves in your view? And is rebiassing your amp a relatively easy thing to do?