Technics 1200mk2

Fbraith

Jun 18, 2017
Recently dug my turntables out of storage. I have been using one of them for a few months now, and have been doing a lot of reading to update my knowledge of the equipment available today. The turntables I own were bought in the mid eighties, and I am wondering if equipment this old is good "as is" or does it need upgrading. I installed an Ortofon red, but wonder whether the connectors coming out of the tt need to be upgraded. I ask because I have seen articles where people spend hundreds of dollars on connection cables made of all sorts of fancy materials. Are my 30 year old connectors still good? Music sounds great to me, but I have no comparison.

Steve Williams

Site Founder, Site Owner, Administrator
Recently dug my turntables out of storage. I have been using one of them for a few months now, and have been doing a lot of reading to update my knowledge of the equipment available today. The turntables I own were bought in the mid eighties, and I am wondering if equipment this old is good "as is" or does it need upgrading. I installed an Ortofon red, but wonder whether the connectors coming out of the tt need to be upgraded. I ask because I have seen articles where people spend hundreds of dollars on connection cables made of all sorts of fancy materials. Are my 30 year old connectors still good? Music sounds great to me, but I have no comparison.

Hi and welcome to WBF Fbraith

You've come to the right place as we have countless experts here in all things vinyl and turntable

Cyclotronguy

Aug 31, 2012
N. CA
Honestly I'd start with some contact cleaner like Caig and call the lads at KAB Electro-Acoustics for some factory oil for your SL-1200's platter bearing and go from there. Kevin has a long history of worthwhile upgrades on the SL-1200, and seeing as yours is already paid for, a few tweaks to what you already have could be the low budget answer to better sound.