What $110m for a Basquiat painting tells us about the art market

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
? High prices for famous 20th-century artworks driven by wealthy collectors from the US, Russia and the Middle East

I was looking for the ART forum section (Paintings, Sculptures, etc.); there is none, so I posted this in the Collectibles Forum section. I think that's fair/close enough.
Still an ART section is important, very, as it expands our horizons on the world's culture of the arts. It's actually my forte/passion, and what I studied @ school and in life. Cinema too, but paintings and sculptures from all over the world...architecture as well. ...Graphic designs. ...The Arts in general. ...Including creative sounds/music.

? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean-Michel_Basquiat

Watch this ? in particular the 1st one
______

? Bonus: http://www.msn.com/en-au/money/fina...nt-id=BBBi74M&fullscreen=true#image=BBBfHJu|1

If you're an art collector (paintings, guitars, swords, audio gear, music recordings, 70mm films, etc.) the value is in what people are willing to pay...sky's the limit.

Steve Williams

Site Founder, Site Owner, Administrator
$110M!!!!

Ouch

I was watching a Sunday morning news documentary today on CBS which included a segment on the 72 yo artist who paints the BMW racing cars. I thought the art on the cars was a bit much. When asked about art the artist smiled at him and said "art is what you can get away with"

So at $110M I'd say he got away with one there and hit a walk off home run.

GaryProtein

VIP/Donor
Jul 25, 2012
NY
WHAT A PIECE OF CRAP.

The purchaser gets the prize for having a big bank account and no taste.

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
$110M!!!!

Ouch

I was watching a Sunday morning news documentary today on CBS which included a segment on the 72 yo artist who paints the BMW racing cars. I thought the art on the cars was a bit much. When asked about art the artist smiled at him and said "art is what you can get away with"