Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Acourate with Lumin, Tidal and Roon

  1. #1

    Acourate with Lumin, Tidal and Roon

    Hi, Is anyone using this combination? I'm just beginning to look into it.

  2. #2
    Addicted to Best! Keith_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    935
    Acourate, yes. Lumin, Tidal, and Roon - no. But it is possible to get Acourate to work with Roon (and therefore with Tidal). Because neither Roon nor the Tidal app have a convolution engine, you will need one. Your options are: HQPlayer, JRiver, AcourateConvolver. There are other options as well - e.g. BruteFIR, which is Linux only and has a very basic interface. But it also has minimal hardware requirements and is very fast.

    You set it up like this:

    1. Create the filters with Acourate.
    2. Load these filters into a convolution engine of your choice.
    3. Set up your software so that Roon/Tidal outputs to your convolution engine (ASIO for JRiver and AcourateConvolver, direct output into HQPlayer).
    4. Play music and enjoy!
    Classical music enthusiast. System photos here.

  3. #3
    Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,063
    Keith,
    The latest version of Roon now has a convolution engine

  4. #4
    Addicted to Best! Keith_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    935
    Thanks Trevor. I did not know that.
    Classical music enthusiast. System photos here.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Whatmore View Post
    Keith,
    The latest version of Roon now has a convolution engine
    It actually works quite well. I've done some A/B comparisons with the engine in JRiver, and Roon's implementation sounds at least as good...perhaps better. However, to get the best sound out of Roon, I've found that you really need to buy into their architectural recommndations. Setup a PC in another part of the house...away from your listening room but connected to your house LAN. Use that PC to run Roon Server. Then use a network audio adapter like the microRendu or a small, solid-state fanless PC like the Quantum Byte Fanless PC, to run Roon Bridge in your main listening room. The server PC will do all of heavy lifting, including streaming from TIDAL or your NAS, uncompressing FLAC to PCM, upsampling, applying EQ and/or convolution, and resampling/descimating the result to match the capabilities of your DAC. The resulting ready-to-play stream will be fed to the NAA or Roon Bridge PC via Roon's RAAT protocol, leaving relatively little work for the small device in your listening room to perform. All it has to do is read the stream from Ethernet and push it to the DAC via USB.

    Instructions for loading convolution filters created by Acourate can be found here: https://kb.roonlabs.com/DSP_Engine:_Convolution

    It's pretty simple once you get the basic *.cfg file format down. Create those once, and you'll never have to change them. When you create new filters, just ZIP up the *.WAV files with the *.cfg files and upload them to Roon server from the DSP/Convolution settings for your DAC in Roon desktop (no mobile/tablet support yet).


  6. #6
    dsynder,

    Thanks for that detailed description.
    Why should the server PC be in a separate room from the listening room and the Roon Bridge PC?

    The reason I ask is that my listening "room" is a separate building from our house (about 100 feet away).
    Internet is delivered by a Netgear Powerline adaptor. The room is 60 feet long, with the listening area at one end.
    Would the other end (50 feet away) provide the separation you're looking for?

    Also, I take it this network of Server and Bridge can be hardwired ethernet (bypassing wireless)? I have had
    nightmare problems with my lumin wireless network and so have had to go wired with Roon.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Generally, the Roon Server PC will be a bit more powerful than the Roon Bridge PC, requiring one or more fans to keep it cool...and fans are usually noisy! The Server PC may generate more RFI and power supply noise than you'd like to have in the listening room as well.

    Agreed that wired Ethernet is definitely the way to go vs. wireless for lots of reasons. Too often, I've found that wifi drivers add significant DPC latency.

  8. #8
    Member Sponsor Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Houston area
    Posts
    223
    Dsnyder,

    Can you post a couple of .cfg files (maybe 44.1 or 88.2 and 192k)so that the format and naming conventions are apparent? It's still a bit confusing in the Roon instructions.
    Preamps: ADA Reference (multichannel); VTL 7.5 II (two channel)
    Digital: MSB Transport+ Platinum V DAC. Core Audio + MicroRendu streaming; Roon+HQP+FabFilter/Acourate; Trinnov (multichannel)
    Speakers: PRO Audio Technology 2115sm across fronts; 4x 18" PRO subs; 11.4 overall
    Room: Design by Dennis Erskine and Keith Yates. Extensive use of RPG custom bass traps
    Power: Richard Gray 20A UPS and isolation transformer. Triton/Typhon and Sound Application. Shunyata Sigma

  9. #9
    Addicted to Best! Keith_W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    935
    You do not want a EOP (Ethernet Over Power) to deliver internet to your system. This injects a lot of electrical noise into the mains. I suggest you run a separate CAT6 network line if your server PC is far away from your playback PC. It should be good for up to 100m (approx 100 yards).
    Classical music enthusiast. System photos here.

  10. #10

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Brucemck2 View Post
    Dsnyder,

    Can you post a couple of .cfg files (maybe 44.1 or 88.2 and 192k)so that the format and naming conventions are apparent? It's still a bit confusing in the Roon instructions.
    Sure....the format looks like this for a simple passive crossover system:

    ==> Cor2.0_96.cfg <==
    Code:
    96000 2 2 0
    0 0
    0 0
    Cor1S96.wav
    0
    0.0
    0.0
    Cor1S96.wav
    1
    1.0
    1.0
    Here's a zip file of the .cfg files that I'm currently using:

    I've removed the filter files, so when you create your .zip file for Roon, be sure also to include these files that are generated by Acourate:

    Code:
    Cor1S44.wav
    Cor1S48.wav
    Cor1S88.wav
    Cor1S96.wav
    Cor1S176.wav
    Cor1S192.wav
    Cor1S352.wav
    Cor1S384.wav
    If you generate filters for all sampling rates, the .zip file that you upload to Roon should contain a total of 16 files...eight .cfg and eight .wav.

    Here's where you upload them in Roon...choose the zone for your listening room and select "DSP Engine" from the pop-up menu:



    Navigate to the Convolution tab and upload the .zip file that contains the eight .cfg and eight .wav files:



    -- David
    Last edited by dsnyder0cnn; 03-14-2017 at 06:37 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Dirac live vs Acourate vs Audiolense
    By dallasjustice in forum Michael Lowe-A Discussion On Holistic Audio
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 04-25-2017, 12:13 PM
  2. CH C1 with streaming board + Tidal + Roon
    By VPN in forum CH Precision Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 05:58 AM
  3. How good is Tidal? Tidal vs. your musical collection?
    By caesar in forum General Audio Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-16-2016, 12:07 PM
  4. Archimago Gets Acourate!
    By dallasjustice in forum Michael Lowe-A Discussion On Holistic Audio
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-29-2015, 08:20 AM
  5. miniDSP OpenDRC with Acourate...anyone tried?
    By Justus in forum Digital Room Eq Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2012, 07:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •