Cj hd3 dac

gareneau

Jul 19, 2015
Morristown, NJ
Curious if anyone here owns this DAC and their experience with it. My understanding is relatively few were every manufactured as CJ decided in the end not to devote resources to this equipment category.

Any thoughts?

Big Dog RJ

Feb 2, 2012
Melbourne
Hey mate,

Yes, I've used this one as well as auditioned it extensively at our CJ dealer's store in Melbourne. Before that, I used the Weiss DAC for a while, and returned both. Eventually I preferred the onboard dual DAC's in the MCD301 SACD player by McIntosh, which I've been using since 2010, and very pleased with what it delivers.

The CJ DAC is an "ok" DAC. Good quality and well built but does not have the same purity as: Allnic, Mac, ARC, or other well known top contenders. Also the price in Aus is way over kill compared to US prices, hence I could not justify spending that kind of money for a DAC of this nature. Spending several grand on a top end DAC, yes maybe worth it, although I still prefer the overall sound of LP's.

I am sure this DAC by CJ must be quite affordable in the US... I would assume? If you are planning on getting one, just try it out first, if possible.
It does add some CJ finesse to the sound but that is only if you haven't experienced other equally top DAC's or DAC's that can really create those emotions from digital recordings.

Overall, the Mac SACD unit was just a little over than the hd3 and it offered a whole lot more, including variable outputs! plus balanced & XLR if required. Very versatile as Mac is always, attending to everyone's needs.

All the best and have a good one.
Cheers, RJ

gareneau

Jul 19, 2015
Morristown, NJ