Al M.

VIP/Donor
Sep 10, 2013
Greater Boston

ack

VIP/Donor & WBF Founding Member
May 6, 2010
Boston, MA
+1 Al. As usual, it's not really always about the sound.

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
I'm no MQA proponent, I'm on the sidelines watching it. and I'm quite skeptical.

however; looking at these links for anti-MQA info....they are all 6 months to a year old. so the recent activity and feedback from end users is not considered by these articles. not to dismiss their concerns, only that it's just part of the picture.

I'd like to see industry feedback including actual up to date experience with it for the whole picture.

rbbert

Dec 12, 2010
Reno, NV
I'm no MQA proponent, I'm on the sidelines watching it. and I'm quite skeptical.

however; looking at these links for anti-MQA info....they are all 6 months to a year old. so the recent activity and feedback from end users is not considered by these articles. not to dismiss their concerns, only that it's just part of the picture.

I'd like to see industry feedback including actual up to date experience with it for the whole picture.

No, highresaudio.com made their initial announcement only yesterday, then revised it slightly today. Apparently Meridian made some complaints to them yesterday (about the bluntness of their reasons for this action?)

Folsom

VIP/Donor
Oct 25, 2015
Eastern WA
Sounds sleazy.

While I think the recording industry might be in need of some help in some ways, some digital tweaking isn't it so the tech isn't even coming close to compensating the monopoly nature.

Yuri Korzunov

Jul 30, 2015
By all previous years experience, proprietary closed formats in audio don't got big popularity.

Except mp3. But mp3 become popular because in past time communication channels was slow and HDDs have small size, comparing modern ones.
It was technical reasons, that was obvious and suitable for consumers.