Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42

Thread: Lampizator Superkomputer

  1. #11
    Member Sponsor Addicted to Best! Elberoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,847
    Quote Originally Posted by abeidrov View Post
    Elberoth, can you share your HQplayer settings? Do you convert everything to DSD256? I really like what I hear with PCM to DSD128 conversion, but, when I play a DSD128 track, I prefer the sound without any processing i.e., the sound with DirectSDM setting is better, than without one.

    Thanks.
    I use same settings as those posted by dminches.
    Last edited by Elberoth; 01-18-2017 at 09:18 AM.
    Adam

    Speakers: Magico M3
    Amp: MSB M202 / D'Agostino Momentum Stereo
    Digital: Lampi Golden Gate DSD only + Lampi DSD Komputer server
    Cables: AudioQuest WEL Signature IC / Shunyata Anaconda Z-Tron SC

  2. #12
    Hang on.. Lampizator's very own Supercomputer cannot make use of the DSD512 engine of the Golden Gate?
    Source: MacMini w/ MMK Fankit/LPS - La Rosita Omega
    DAC: LampizatOr Golden Gate
    Preamp: New Audio Frontiers Stradivari
    Active Speakers: ME-Geithain RL 901K
    All Cables: ultima musica silver cables by refine audio

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    174
    I need to do some further listening, but so far - yes. But the difference is not night and day. Hopefully, when I will be able to upsample to DSD512, the difference will be bigger. Also, the GG I have on test does not have a separate DSD board. The DSD engine shares the board with the R2R engine, and it is my understanding, that this DSD engine is inferior to the separate DSD board engine that supports DSD512.

  4. #14
    Addicted to Best!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,385
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by khonfused View Post
    Hang on.. Lampizator's very own Supercomputer cannot make use of the DSD512 engine of the Golden Gate?
    Only Windows can at the moment and you can run the SK in Windows too, but they only support Linux. Apparently, Amanero is promising a Linus DSD512 upgrade soon. I heard they even did and early stage prototype already...

    At the moment, only the SGM server and peoples own Skylake CAPs running win10 or 2012 can do dsd512.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    174
    Not yet, a firmware update from Amanero should solve the issue. If you really need to upsample to DSD512 now, the only way would be to install windows on the Superkomputer.

  6. #16
    Member Sponsor Addicted to Best! Elberoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,847
    I believe you can get the Superkomputer with Win 2012 server OS istalled if you really need DSD 512.
    Adam

    Speakers: Magico M3
    Amp: MSB M202 / D'Agostino Momentum Stereo
    Digital: Lampi Golden Gate DSD only + Lampi DSD Komputer server
    Cables: AudioQuest WEL Signature IC / Shunyata Anaconda Z-Tron SC

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    174
    I would wait for a new version of the Amanero module. I understand it is a matter of couple of months.

  8. #18
    I am thinking about ordering the SuperKomputer. In your last picture above, is that a separate power supply for the Komputer?

    Thanks.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by yabusama View Post
    I am thinking about ordering the SuperKomputer. In your last picture above, is that a separate power supply for the Komputer?

    Thanks.
    No, it is just my Antipodes server. I wanted to show how big the supercomputer is

  10. #20
    Addicted to Best! SCAudiophile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Greer South Carolina (USA)
    Posts
    686
    Quote Originally Posted by Elberoth View Post
    I believe you can get the Superkomputer with Win 2012 server OS installed if you really need DSD 512.
    That's tantamount to sticking a Yugo engine in a Ferrari and about as dependable too. <clearly a joke,...>

    DSD256 is more than enough; 512 is of benefit only if the recording itself sounds better upsampled that far. More is not always better.

    All kidding aside, congratulations on your impending M3s!!!

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lampizator Big 7
    By Elberoth in forum Digital Audio Forum: DAC, Transports, Digital Processing
    Replies: 332
    Last Post: 06-09-2018, 01:32 PM
  2. Lampizator DSD DAC
    By Bruce B in forum Digital Audio Forum: DAC, Transports, Digital Processing
    Replies: 698
    Last Post: 04-22-2017, 10:27 AM
  3. Lampizator GG and Lampizator Komputer
    By Lee Henley in forum Digital Audio Forum: DAC, Transports, Digital Processing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2015, 06:28 AM
  4. WTB: EOI Lampizator DSD dac
    By andrew_stenhouse in forum Buy and Sell Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-30-2015, 09:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •