Making the Move to HDR [FULL PANEL] | HDR & SDR | Educational Video

Sharp 1080

Apr 20, 2010
Dallas,Texas
Thanks for posting the video. I'm just getting into UHD with HDR with a few discs. I have had a few "wow" moments so far! I'm using the Sony XBR 940D. SDR isn't bad either. The 1080P to 4K upscaling has also impressed me.

NorthStar

Feb 8, 2011
Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada
I'm in the same position myself; learning the new technologies from Dolby...HDR...Vision...Atmos...
And 4K, and 3D fading away, and HDMI certified cables, HDMI 2.1//HDCP 2.2 - handshakes, 4K BR discs - 100GB, TVs with enough brightness for top HDR performance, same with the 4K front projectors, AV receivers and SSPs that are Dolby Vision capable (factual reality), and HDMI cables that can transfer audio/video Ultra Hi-Def and Ultra Hi-Res over say 40 feet, and even less, like 10 feet, ...and everything between that works properly.

You can call it the BEST in the Ultra High Definition World...coming soon...within the next few years before we can all lift up.
It should be a real thrill, because 3D wasn't part of the new 4K Blu-ray standards.

I also want to see the death of "Motion Blur" for good. So I am a fervent supporter of higher frame rates...eg.; 60, 120, 240fps.
I like high bit too; 12 and up.

That is why HDMI cables are very very important because they have to transfer an enormous amount of high resolving data.
To me, that's the biggest challenge we are facing today. Because tomorrow depends on today's performance and delivery.
After 4K it is 8K (already in Japan). And for that, more and more data has to be conveyed with full efficiency.

There are job openings right now in the manufacturing of Ultra High End HDMI cables.
Also, in the video chips business. Job opportunities for our youngsters.
The elite executives they have the bright ideas (except for killing 3D and not providing Dolby Atmos with all BR formats), and it's up to the real builders to put them in reality.