Do different tape transports sound different?

Fred Thal

[Industry Expert]
Jul 15, 2016
This is a question I've been hearing for over 45 years. It still makes me smile.

Answering authoritatively necessitates a listening demonstration where all other variables have been removed.

For the comparison of the two recorder-reproducers shown (Ampex ATR-102 and Studer A820), we put in identical half-inch repro heads and cables and connected them to identical playback circuitry.
ATR  A820 comparison - Copy.jpg

DonH50

Member Sponsor & WBF Technical Expert
Jun 22, 2010
Monument, CO
I would expect they would sound different... Different transports will have different vibrations, wow and flutter, variations in tape path, etc. that will cause changes in the sound. I suppose it's possible the differences on a couple of excellent transports might be inaudible but they'd certainly be measurable.

IMO - Don

Fred Thal

[Industry Expert]
Jul 15, 2016
A meaningful evaluation of different tape playback electronics requires first that the electronics are each carefully aligned to the calibration tones found on the master tape used for the playback comparison.

A comprehensive set of alignment tones recorded to the master tape is a hallmark of any professionally made analog recording. Correspondingly, any true tape recording professional would regard playback electronics that will not accurately align to the standard equalization curves as merely sadly misguided consumer toys. (Imagine the chaos of comparing phono stages that do not accurately follow the RIAA curve.)

Some people assume that the differences between different tape playback electronics will be much more readily audible than would be any differences between different transports. However the reverse is true.
DSC_0504 - Copy.jpg

RogerD

VIP/Donor
May 23, 2010
BiggestLittleCity
Hello Fred,

Theoretically no,but probably yes.

Fred Thal

[Industry Expert]
Jul 15, 2016