Aurender W20 vs my hot-rodded PC server

Elberoth

Member Sponsor
Dec 15, 2012
Poland
I've been playing with PC audio for the past 5 years. I've started with a standard CAPS v2 Lagoon server and have ended up with pretty much maxed out CAPS v4 Pipeline server:

- sever MoBo and RAM
- battery PSU for the SSD
- linear ATX PSU
- Jcat Femto USB card
- Jcat SATA cable
- Teddy Pardo PSU for the USB card
- Win Server 2012 OS
- Audiophile Optimizer 2.00
- external music HDD (NAS)

I also have UpTone Audio UltraCap LPS-1 & JS-2 PSUs, Regen, Jcat (Intona) USB isolator, Wyred Recovery etc.

So I was pretty much covered ... or so I thought.

Yesterday, I brought home the Aurender W20 for the first time and ... it sounds better. Damn. A bit fuller in the midrange. Not a night and day difference, but I prefere it over my server.

Now what ? I will have to start saving up for the W20. Or the N10, if it is really close in performance.

JackD201

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Manila, Philippines
I know exactly what you mean. The W20 is indeed something else.

hifial

Apr 7, 2013
Don't forget to check out the Sound Galleries Monaco music server aka SGM 2015. You will be very happy you did. I am:cool:

caesar

May 30, 2010
Don't forget to check out the Sound Galleries Monaco music server aka SGM 2015. You will be very happy you did. I am:cool:

Hi Hifial,
I know the SGM has been getting great buzz, but have you tried the Aurender by any chance?

EuroDriver

Sep 16, 2015
Monaco
Hi Hifial,
I know the SGM has been getting great buzz, but have you tried the Aurender by any chance?

The Aurenda W-20 is a very good bit perfect music server. It has a nice Linux OS, and a customized version of the popular MPD player. Aurenda have also done a good job on their iPad remote app.

We have many customers who used to have the W20, but now use the SGM for the following reasons

- Roon for music discovery delivers a very rich and exciting exploration experience