Dartzeel NHB-18NS or ARC Ref 5 se?

Cascais

Nov 5, 2012
Portugal
Can anyone compare these two fine preamps? I am using the Ref 5 se with a Dartzeel NHB 108 power amp but have an opportunity to acquire the NHB-18NS which I would probably have upgraded to new status. Note: I am perfectly satisfied with the Ref 5 se but you know how temptation is.:p

XV-1

May 24, 2010
Sydney
Go for it. I don't believe you will be dissappointed.

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
I have no personal experience with the ARC Ref 5 SE; however I live every day with the new dart NHB-18NS preamp and it's is astonishingly good in every way, and the previous unit I owned for 9 years is very very good too.

do it!

etunes

Jan 8, 2012
Virginia Beach
Can anyone compare these two fine preamps? I am using the Ref 5 se with a Dartzeel NHB 108 power amp but have an opportunity to acquire the NHB-18NS which I would probably have upgraded to new status. Note: I am perfectly satisfied with the Ref 5 se but you know how temptation is.:p

I've owned both the ARC REF 5,5SE and the older Dart and now the newest version of the NHB-18NS. My amp currently is the Dart 108. I much prefer the Dart and there is great synergy between the Dart pre and amp. Sound wise for me they are very far apart. I find the Dart much less fatiguing and more musical but results may vary.

Cascais

Nov 5, 2012
Portugal
I've owned both the ARC REF 5,5SE and the older Dart and now the newest version of the NHB-18NS. My amp currently is the Dart 108. I much prefer the Dart and there is great synergy between the Dart pre and amp. Sound wise for me they are very far apart. I find the Dart much less fatiguing and more musical but results may vary.
Since there are no reviews yet to my knowledge of the revised NHB-18NS, could you describe the difference you found between the old and new version of that preamp? I am having a problem connecting with Hervé as my emails keep getting kicked back.

ashandger