AXPONA 2016: Teaser thread

amirm

Banned
Apr 2, 2010
Seattle, WA
[This is cut and paste from the audiosciecereview forum thread. Hopefully the pictures come out right]

Here is a quick feel for the AXPONA 2016. Will post all the pictures and room impressions later.

This is my first time at AXPONA. There is a lot I like about it:

1. About a mile or two from the airport. Bad for food. Great for reducing the aggravation to get here.

2. If you have read my previous posts on shows like RMAF, you know that audiophiles as a group tend to not take showers and small horrible. Not here. Whether it is because the weather is not too hot (beautiful sunny 60 degrees), or the right sort of people coming here, there is not a foul smell anywhere.

3. Hotel suites are cool with very quiet AC. None of the roaring sound at other shows where they either bother you with that noise, or turn it off to suffocate you with here. At AXPONA, almost every room was comfortable to sit in although a bit too hot if I wore my jacket.

4. I put that as a plus but it is a consumer show, not dealer. They openly sell gear here unlike CES and everyone is focused on end users.

Not so good and rather strange for a show is not giving you any badges. Just a rubber band to wear which no one checks. I tend to want to make a lot of connections with engineers and company reps which in the other shows I did by having them scan my badge. Thankfully I brought my own personal cards to hand out.

I can't believe in this day and age we still have to carry the show book around. Thankfully they made it small but i wish they would give you a pdf of it so that you could electronically scan it.

Anyway, you didn't come to read this garbage but learn about audio. On that front, the show has been enjoyable. There is a shuffling of guards with some new rooms sounding good. I only had time to see two and half floors.

Quick highlights are Dan D'agostino finally showing the Stromtank online audio UPS playing.