45 RPM reissues- Are they better than high-res downloads?

Gregadd

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Metro DC
Has anyone done any comparisons? I know of a guy who will not acquire anything else. Some are pricy with limited musical content. They do however minimize crosstalk and inner grove distortion.
I have limited experience. They were quite good. We talk a lot about best digital versus best vinyl. There does not appear to be a clear idea of what that is.

Asamel

Jan 22, 2012
Philly
Here we go. If you like the sound of vinyl that is best, if you prefer digital then... There are also those who don't believe that 45 RPM LPs are better than 33s. I suggest that you buy quality pressings and downloads whenever possible.

Of course I prefer tape when available.

Johnny Vinyl

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
May 16, 2010
Calgary, AB
I cannot comment on hi-res as I don't partake in downloads, but I do believe that 45rpm is better than 33rpm in most cases. I didn't really think that Fleetwood Mac - Rumours was a great example of 45rpm being better than anything else out there. Regardless of format one will get hits & misses.

MadFloyd

Member Sponsor
May 30, 2010
Mass
I cannot comment on hi-res as I don't partake in downloads, but I do believe that 45rpm is better than 33rpm in most cases. I didn't really think that Fleetwood Mac - Rumours was a great example of 45rpm being better than anything else out there. Regardless of format one will get hits & misses.

No question in mind that in a high end system, vinyl is superior, even 33 RPM. Only situation where it isn't is if the turntable or phono stage is entry level vs a very high end DAC or where the mastering on the digital is superior to the mastering of the vinyl.

That said, it takes a substantial investment to get a good vinyl playback system - much more than digital (or at least that's been my experience).

Asamel

Jan 22, 2012
Philly