Golden Ear Triton One

Cascais

Nov 5, 2012
Portugal
I have been using Sonus Faber Mementos for a few years and love the looks and sound of these two-way speakers, the one element of my system which I thought was there forever. However lately I have been reading intriguing reviews in major journals of the new Triton One by Golden Ear which makes me think I might need a change. These are full-range speakers from 14 Hz powered subwoofers to 35k Hz ribbon tweeters, plus an array of passive bass radiators and woofers. Covered by a sock, the speakers are not pretty but the technology seems first-rate, so I am going to audition them at my local dealer. Has anyone heard the Triton One and is it as good as the gushing reviews would indicate?

treitz3

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 25, 2011
The tube lair in beautiful Rock Hill, SC
Hello and good morning to you, Cascais. IMO, downgrade for you and no. To me the hype is as bad as the speaker. Just an FYI, I auditioned this in a 2-channel setup whilst Sandy was sitting in the room and was caught off guard when he asked me if I liked the speakers. Like a deer in the headlights look on my face, I simply nodded, smiled and left the room. What I wanted to say is "Not one thing, not one damned thing".

These are just my honest observations of this speaker.

Tom

Cascais

Nov 5, 2012
Portugal
Thank you Tom for your considered opinion which gives me a point of reference for the audition. Since the Tritons are half the price of the Mementos, I was wondering if they might be put in the "great value" rather than the great sound regardless category.

FrantzM

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Thank you Tom for your considered opinion which gives me a point of reference for the audition. Since the Tritons are half the price of the Mementos, I was wondering if they might be put in the "great value" rather than the great sound regardless category.