Which Synology NAS

Jond

Oct 31, 2015
Hi,
Recently joined and my first post and yes I guess I'm a total computer noob but looking at buying a Synology NAS and baffled at all the choices. I want to do this fairly cheaply under $300 or less would be better and I see options in my price range but can't seem to figure out what sets them apart. A few questions, is diskless a good option? Is a diskless drive expandable? If a product is not listed as diskless does it mean I have to buy drives separately? Or is there also storage in the NAS hard drive? My storage needs aren't great I'm guessing 1 or 2 TB would be more than enough but I don't want to limit myself to future expansion. Any recs with model numbers I can find on Amazon would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if this is super basic and I did do research I guess my questions are so basic no one bothers to ask them. FYI the NAS will be streamed to a Sonos Connect and then output to a Yamamoto DAC.
Thanks,
Jon

Bruce B

WBF Founding Member, Pro Audio Production Member
Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
www.pugetsoundstudios.com
If it's listed as "diskless", then you need to buy the hard drives separately. I have a 4-bay unit and a 6-bay unit. I put 6TB hard drives in them. The unit is inexpensive until you start buy Enterprise drives.
Once set up, they have been flawless for about 2-yr. now.
I think off the top of my head one of the units is called a DS-414?? something....

Jond

Oct 31, 2015
Another question sorry I just can't make sense of how these things are priced, at the bottom of the page there is a comparison chart, this NAS BC115j has a 3 TB hard drive and is $239.99 next to it on the chart is DS215j with 12 TB hard drive and its $199.99. So if storage capacity doesn't increase the price what does?

Bruce B

Apr 25, 2010
Snohomish, WA
Bruce thanks for your reply that helps a lot! So looking at this model:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SSXQO9W/ref=psdc_13436301_t1_B00RX87LJK