Problems with 2" recordings cubase and wave files

cynostic

Jul 6, 2015
I am a professional computer analyst and musician. My DAW is Finale 2014 and Kontakt 5. Occasionally I will use Cubase for compatibility reasons and complete final mixes with audacity.

A week ago I was given an assignment to correct some mistakes in a Cubase 5.1 song/file. The song has 23 tracks, all wave files transported from a 2" reel to reel. The initial recording had flaws (mistakes the musicians made)the other mistakes were timing mistakes caused by the transfer from the 2" media to Cubase. Unfortunately the 2" media is no longer available and only the Cubase version exists.

The producer wants to add 8 measures to the beginning and correct some of the mistakes thru out the song.
Problems:
1. the analog timing is not consistent
2. the digital timing is different with each track
3. the time code does not correspond with the digital or analog
4. Changing or adding time to one track changes the time through out the rest of the tracks almost randomly when played back in Cubase.
5. Bleeding on the song from one wav file to the next is very strong, when silenced, the timing changes.
6. All the individual files in this song are wave files and messing with the timing of one effect the others in Cubase 5.
7. I have move all the files into other wave editors with almost the same results, which leads me to believe the wave files have other hidden codes that I cannot phantom.

Any help on this subject? questions? Suggesting's?​

About us