Duetta Re-Due

wineslob

Aug 5, 2010
As some may have noticed, or not, I am the owner of a pair of 1986 Apogee Duetta II's. One day I noticed that the right speaker bass panel wasen't playing (uh oh).
Well the problem was this:

The dark spots are cracks in the aluminum ribbon material, and caused the panels to open (electrical). They are dark because I tried a repair which diden't work.
Unfortuately getting the panels redone is out of the question, I've got a 13 y.o. daughter thats just gotten her braces and she's in Ballet. So it's gonna be a few years before I can spend $3000 to get them fixed up.
Well, I've been a DIY speaker builder for 30 years, so I come up with an idea. I'll "create" a hybrid Apogee. This is nothing new, Apogee realized that many potential customers coulden't afford their full ribbon speakers, so they came up with "hybrids" like the Centuar.
My idea is to make a "major" hybrid, which will use the midrange/ tweeter out of the Duetta and a bass/mid-bass driver (10" cone)
I have a couple of drivers laying around so I do the calcs and come up with a 2.7 cf box: (I do my own woodworking)

Here is one just after a coat of satin black, it's still shiney:

I've got both cabs done, woofers installed, but no pics yet. I'll post in the next couple of days.

FrantzM

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Wine

There is a person in the MA area that repairs these for what I remember was a decent price around $300. The only issue was to ship the speakers. Google Apogee Forums .. now if you absolutely want to go ahead then by all means do ... else you can have the panel redone and there are even new panels for the Duetta from Graz HERE.. The bass panel requires some gig to mount it properly but since you are a DIY..

wineslob

Aug 5, 2010