Ingress - the game for walkers

carolkoh

[Industry Expert] Member Sponsor
Sep 17, 2010
Seattle, WA
www.genesisloudspeakers.com
Walking is my chosen form of exercise - but it's hard to get motivated in the winter, after a long day at work, etc. etc. Well, a friend introduced me to Ingress on Friday and I started playing the game on Saturday. I am hooked. The game is by Google's Niantic Labs and features two factions - you choose one - and basically, you hack portals, deploy "resonators" to claim them, link them to throw up protection fields. A new feature is missions.

So my walking pattern has changed. Instead of twice around the block at lunch yesterday, I walked towards and around portals. I am crossing streets and walking a little farther in order to get to a portal, and last night, since I had not made my 6,000 steps for the day (I was at about 4,000), I fired the game up and found a 15 minute mission at the park next door to me. 30 minutes later, I was over 10,000 steps. Woohoo!

Now... let's see how long I can keep this up or it holds my interest and helps motivate me. There are also local groups to find walking buddies, meet-ups and events. Events! One that the local groups are discussing will take place in Portland over a weekend - i.e. people converge into town and try to claim it for their faction. LoL.

https://www.ingress.com/

About us