Do you hear what I hear???

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
With all the discussion on various topics about a) the quality of music b) the quality of recordings c) the ringing/non-ringing of tweets d) the quality and quantity of bass and room sizes, etc....The question becomes...DO WE ALL HEAR THE SAME AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, DO WE ATTRIBUTE WHAT WE HEAR AS PLEASURABLE TO US??

IME, we absolutely do hear similarly, BUT we have different pleasure senses that in all of us are triggered in a different manner.
As a musician, my training and experience with live instruments isn't going to be the same as those who have never picked up an instrument in their life. My ear is more attuned to some things and my expectations are probably different than a non-musician a'phile. OTOH, what is it that allows one a'phile to complain about a specific genre of music and another to enjoy same....thoughts???????

asiufy

Industry Expert/VIP Donor
Jul 8, 2011
San Diego, CA
almaaudio.com
DaveyF,

It's pretty clear to me that people don't hear similarly.
I've been in rooms where people would come to me and say "that's too bright". Then I'd have people say "too dark", same song, same system, same room.
How can one person hear brightness, yet another person fail to hear it, AT ALL?
I guess all these discussions come down to this, the biological/physical aspect of our hearing.
You're a musician, but I can show you 10 other musicians who'll dispute your views on how a "live instrument" should sound. I know, because I've met a couple of them, and they hardly ever agree among themselves :)

alexandre

DaveyF

Jul 31, 2010
La Jolla, Calif USA
DaveyF,

It's pretty clear to me that people don't hear similarly.
I've been in rooms where people would come to me and say "that's too bright". Then I'd have people say "too dark", same song, same system, same room.
How can one person hear brightness, yet another person fail to hear it, AT ALL?