Need opinions on 2 pieces

arthurs

Sep 12, 2010
Denton, TX
I am an admitted classical novice, so when I hear compelling pieces I need some counsel from the more experienced on performers/versions/recordings that are not only top performances, but sonically good as well. Here's my two for today:

Havanaise by Saint Saenz

Nimrod by Elgar

If there are multiple good choices that's fine as well. Thanks in advance!

RBFC

WBF Founding Member
Apr 20, 2010
Albuquerque, NM
www.fightingconcepts.com
Arthur,

I've thought about this for a bit. I'm not familiar with the Saint-Saens, so I can't comment. The Nimrod is part of the Enigma Variations, if that's what you intend. I have a good reading from Andrew Litton on Virgin Classics (will have to look, with over 2000 CDs, it'll take a while). Of course, Sir Adrian Boult produced several fine Elgar recordings too.

Here's the links:

Boult

http://www.amazon.com/Elgar-Variati...=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1286249770&sr=1-1

Litton

http://www.amazon.com/Enigma-Variat...=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1286249890&sr=1-3

I hope this helps. I'm sure that there are many other fine versions out there, but these are the only ones I personally can vouch for.

Lee

Old Listener

Jul 18, 2010
SF Bay area
naturelover.smugmug.com
I am an admitted classical novice, so when I hear compelling pieces I need some counsel from the more experienced on performers/versions/recordings that are not only top performances, but sonically good as well. Here's my two for today:

Havanaise by Saint Saenz

My favorite performance is by Arthur Grumiaux. Here is an available CD;

http://www.arkivmusic.com/classical/album.jsp?album_id=59460

Arthur Grumiaux (Violin)
Conductor: Manuel Rosenthal
Orchestra/Ensemble: Lamoureux Concerts Association Orchestra

You also get the Introduction and Rondo capriccioso by Saint-Saens (another appealing short violin and orchestra work) and the Symphonie espagnole by Lalo. Grumiaux is my first choice in these pieces as well.